Write Daily

Standard

The best tip I can give is simply to write.

If you want to be a writer the first step is doing just that. Try writing a little bit everyday. It can be additions to a story in the works or it can just be random thoughts or feelings. The best way to improve your writing is practice.

When I first wrote my manuscript it was a complicated ordeal. I was always editing. It was never good enough, and I got no where. I was so focused on getting my grammar perfect and picking the best word or creating the best scene that I missed out on a lot of creativity. I also tired of writing. It became a chore. It made me want to quite. So I did, and started something else. I thought about my characters and story a lot, but it was always tainted with my criticism. A couple months ago I went back to that story. I just wrote. Now it’s finished. It could most certainly still use some polish and there are still some strings that need to be tied together, but the tale developed organically. I didn’t over think things and it was once again a story I wanted to tell, a story I felt inspired to write about.

If you can’t think of something to write about here are a few great go-to themes:

  • Relationships: Family, boyfriends, girlfriends, friends, anyone you have a relationship with and you want to write about.
  • Yourself: Write about your day, your week, your childhood, just go through memories or dreams I’m sure you’ll find fodder.
  • Passions: Do you love soccer? Skiing? Dogs? Just cover what you love.
  • The world: Write about the room you’re in, write about the color of the tree outside. Use the scenery around you to inspire.
The idea of your daily musings is to be comfortable writing things that aren’t publishing worthy. Just write knowing that you love it. When you pick a theme, exhaust it. Write sensory details, create a setting, expand on every detail. Pick a place you feel comfortable. It can be a comfy chair by the fire, or an antique desk in the attic. You can even go to Panera or Starbucks and get inspired by the other patrons, but be comfortable so you are only thinking about your words. If there is a cramp in your back or your baby sister or daughter is poking you your mind isn’t focused on your work.
Write until you want to stop. It’s not meant to be homework or a challenge. It’s meant to be a fun way to practice your writing. It can be a simple ten minute character sketch or an hour long perusal of an intimate childhood memory. It doesn’t matter what you write, just that you write.
After a week I guarantee you will come to treasure this time. If you write in the morning it’s a nice way to casually wake up, or in the evening to unwind. This alone time gives you the means to shut out negativity and do what you love. Write.
Leave a Reply

